London, GB 19 °C

Monday, June 24, 2019


Jayne-Anne Gadhia and Colette Bowe appointed to FPC

Theo Osborn | 13:10 Thursday 3rd January 2019

Dame Colette Bowe and Dame Jayne-Anne Gadhia (pictured above) have been appointed as external members of the Bank of England’s Financial Policy Committee.

They will replace Richard Sharp and Martin Taylor, who are stepping down at the end of Q1 2019 and Q2 2019 respectively.

Jayne-Anne currently provides industry input to the FCA through her membership of the FCA Practitioner Panel and most recently served as the CEO of Virgin Money until its merger with CYBG.

Colette – who will take up her role in time for the FPC’s Q3 2019 round of meetings – is the current chairman of the Banking Standards Board and a trustee of the IFRS foundation.

They will both serve three-year terms in their new roles.

Philip Hammond, chancellor of the exchequer, said: “The Financial Policy Committee’s importance to the protection and resilience of our economy cannot be overstated, which is why we have some of the finest talent in finance on it.

“The insight and experience that both Dame Colette and Dame Jayne-Anne bring will be valuable assets to the committee’s vital work.”

Mark Carney, governor of the Bank of England, added: “I am delighted to welcome the appointment of Colette and Jayne-Anne to the Financial Policy Committee.

“As chair of the Banking Standards Board, Colette has led the way in developing and embedding better standards of conduct across the banking sector.

“Her experience in the private sector and handling some of the biggest regulatory challenges of our times will also be extremely valuable to the committee’s deliberations in the coming years.

“Jayne-Anne brings deep and relevant experience in retail banking and her successful business career.

“In her public policy, she has championed the transformative impact of adopting new technologies and of greater diversity within the workforce of the financial services industry.

“We also greatly look forward to her contributions to the work of the committee.”

leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.